Day 014: “She Speaks Red” Album

…How do we know when we are really ready for something? How much preparation does it take? When, after spending time training and dipping into our creativity, does the true self-assurance emerge to step out into the spotlight? When do we become something?

I ask these questions because I find myself pondering where this project will lead. I did, after all, leave it fairly open-ended. Yes, some days I do little more than my daily exercises and thinking. It may not seem like much, and there are times that I wish I could do more. Still, each day my voice becomes a little bit richer and my ideas for the future become a little bit more concrete. Momentum is a gorgeous thing. It is my desire and my my faith that it will carry me as I invest more and more time and emotion into this project. …Most great things started small.

Yet, even momentum could benefit from being pointed this way or that. I think I would like to direct this energy toward the goal of creating an album. My creative focus has been wandering, and I believe that this idea will tighten it into focus.

What I propose is several tracks of poetry, spoken (or sung) over music made with my own voice. In this album, I want to evoke a feeling of divine power and life experience. I want to share the pains and the joys I’ve had that others may feel similarly intimate with. I want to bring to light and to question the mysterious forces that none of us quite understand.

She Speaks Red.

Why red? Because red evokes passion. Red indicates strength. Red makes us stop up short for a moment. I want to use my voice to convey radiant truths. I want to be bold. I want to be heard.

101 Days Until is no longer just a blog. It is my journey toward creating an album with absolute scratch. Along this path will be practice, writing, slow times of frustration, sudden moments of ecstatic writing, budgeting, learning, and reaching right through the fires to something I’ve never done before…to something I won’t know how to do until I’ve done it.

…I always did have a thing for learning the hard way. It’s more hands-on. And it makes for a lesson permanently emblazoned on one’s heart and in one’s mind.

So. We’re right at the beginning. Let’s put it together.

Thank you for your motivation and support, Lovely Audience! ‘Much love!

“Setting goals is the first step in turning the invisible into the visible.” –Tony Robbins

“I don’t focus on what I’m up against. I focus on my goals and I try to ignore the rest.” –Venus Williams

1 Comment

Leave a comment